Outstanding Career Public Servants Wanted: American University Recognizes Excellence in Public Service

by June 3, 2010 0 comments

American University's School of Public Affairs announced today that nominations for its 2010 Roger Jones AwardsAmerican University’s School of Public Affairs announced today that nominations for its 2010 Roger Jones Awards for executive leadership and commitment to career development are still open. Nominations will be accepted until Friday, June 4, 2010.

Named after Roger W. Jones for his commitment to over 40 years of public service and dedication to the political and presidential administrations of four presidents, this award recognizes two exceptional public servants in the federal government whose work is marked by extraordinary effectiveness during his or her career, or in a single mission or achievement.

Award recipients, who are chosen by the Roger W. Jones Selection Committee, will be honored in the fall at a special awards ceremony led by American University’s President, Neil Kerwin. In appreciation for his/her outstanding service, each recipient will receive $2,500.

Criteria for Roger Jones Award recipients:
•Superior leadership and outstanding organizational achievement
•A strong commitment to effective continuity of govern-ment by promoting career development of future federal managers and executives

Nominations may be made by presidential and other administration appointees and self-nominations are not accepted. Nominees must be members of the Senior Executive Service (SES).

Members of the selection committee include Melissa J. Allen, former assistant secretary of administration for the Department of Transportation; Charles Bowsher, former comptroller general of the United States; Mortimer Downey, former deputy secretary for the Department of Transportation; Harold B. Finger, former associate administrator for management for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration; David M. Walker, former comptroller general of the United States; Jacquelyn L. Williams-Bridgers, managing director of international affairs and trade for the Government Accountability Office; Frances Fragos Townsend (BA/SPA ’82), former assistant to President Bush for homeland security and counterterrorism and former chair of the Homeland Security Council; John Hill, CEO, Federal City Council; and James C. Miller III, former director of the U.S. Office of Management and Budget.

Since 1978, American University’s School of Public Affairs annually has honored two people who have demonstrated superior leadership in the federal government. Roger W. Jones, for whom the award is named after, represents the very best in public service. Ranked among the top schools of its kind, American University’s School of Public Affairs is a leader in executive education, offering three accredited graduate degrees: MPA, MPP, and executive MPA.

For more information about the award, please contact Jacqueline Corbett, AU School of Public Affairs, at 202-885-2937 or [email protected].

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Only registered users can comment.